Growing up in the 80’s The Sound of Music and many other Julie Andrews movies were the soundtracks of the times. They were standard fare in the video library of anyone who collected videos. One of the most memorable songs was during a thunderstorm, and Maria sang the fear away from the kids. The song was My favorite things…come on I am sure you know it and if not google it now :D.

 

The technique of disassociation from the unpleasant is to me like a trap door when I want to escape and physically cannot. And so when my mind goes elsewhere, I daydream myself into amazing places. I meet all sorts of people, have some really stimulating conversations. I sometimes even think of my self getting a massage and can feel the muscles relax. Every once in while though I think of my favorite things, and though I may share a few items on Andrew’s list I have a few of my own. Here are some of my favorite things:

  • The smell of Jasmine in the air on a cool summer’s breeze when you least expect it.
  • The tingling of muscles after a good long walk.
  • The warm hug of a long lost friend.
  • Watching the sunset’s reflection from the Books@cafe terrace (I even have a favorite seat).
  • The smell and feel of Zangabeel’s fur.
  • The fullness after a delicious home cooked meal.
  • The crispness of a sweet watermelon.
  • The taste of mint in everything – even on eggs!
  • The rush of waves at my feet.
  • Tulips
  • Hamzah’s homemade cheese cake.
  • A good massage
  • The melting of dark chocolate in my mouth.
  • The feel of soft hair running through my hands (even if its my own).
  • The smile of wonder on a child’s face.
  • The infectiousness of a genuine smile.

 

 

 

I am going to stop here because there are so many things that I can keep counting as my favorite. Thinking about any of these things or even having them around gives me a smile and definitely helps put me in a better frame of mind. They can move me into another state of being when I need to do so.

 

