Life is all about choices. There are many things we choose, and others that are chosen for us. In my life there have been many milestones and many crossroads. Some I have chosen paths less traveled and others I took the safe exit. At some I was led down the path and others I blazed the trail. There were some where I followed unconsciously and others where I thought long and hard about where I am going and how I am going to get there. Some of these choices lead to dead ends; others have me spinning my wheels in place, whereas some have me going around in circles. My favorite choices are the ones that open up more possibilities and expand my world.

Today, sitting back and looking at my world I can see that my complexities arise from the choices I made as much as the choices I didn’t make. For example some of my choices were my full time position over freelancing. Choosing to visit Sri Lanka instead of Turkey. Going to a dietician but opting out of my weekly exercise game. But there are other things that happen and you don’t choose, who you fall in love with, who falls in love with you. Who your parents and family are, among other things we attribute to fate. And those things add more complexity to our lives.

I think that regardless of the outcomes of my decisions and those taken for me, I wouldn’t change a thing. I even include the bad decisions I have made, and trust me there were many. I wouldn’t want to change a thing because the sum of all the good, bad and the ugly has lead me to where I am. I am proud of who I am, of my accomplishments, and even my failures because I know that I have learned from them. My choices and those of fate have morphed me into who I am and as screwed up and as complex as that may be, I wouldn’t change a thing.


Mind you there are things that I would like to change today, but those are choices I might make today. And to that end I choose to end this rambling now.  

