I’ve recently visited a couple of malls and more than one coffee chain, these are things I rarely do. On these visits I noticed that the staff manning most of the stores and cafes were Jordanians. This may be one of the few redeeming qualities these places have. The creation of all these jobs and the fact that the “lazy” Jordanian is filling them is heartwarming.

Seeing  our youth working at these blue collar jobs is heartening. I guess gone are the days  when rigid parents and spoilt children refused the concept of labor in service, retail and hospitality industries. This is a small but good step forward in building the  character of our youth, now becoming the majority of our population, and tomorrow’s leaders.

What’s interesting to note is that in Thursday’s (Feb 7) Jordan Times the lead story on the front page was about unemployment. We still boast a very high rate: 13.1%, however, it is down from 14% last year. A major step in the last six years according to the article. Now I am no economist but with the growing population rate and the number of employable people, what that means to me is that there were enough job opportunities created that exceeded the rate of growth  for job seekers. How much of this is related to the boom in malls and global chains? I don’t know. I just hope we can continue to create more employment opportunities in all sectors, and in white collar as well as blue collar jobs. Perhaps this will help boost our economy and our people before they both collapse under the pressure of rising prices and inflation.

