Amman is a land locked city, in fact if it weren’t for the Dead Sea and the Port of Aqaba all of Jordan would not have any water bodies to look out to. These two tiny places offer some relief from the desert landscape that surrounds us. I’ve recently visited both places and was irked by these visits as much as I have been relaxed by them.

When visiting either place you can spend nothing to enjoy them, or a fortune. There are public places where you can sit and see the waves lap up and the sun set very beautifully. But God forbid you want to go to a cafe and just sit and drink a cup of coffee. As soon as you are at the door of one of the resorts these cafes and restaurants are housed in you are asked to fork over a payment for a meal ticket or an entrance fee, or better yet have a reservation to spend the night.

This is ridiculous and aggravating. With so few options in either place this policy is discriminatory. The minimum entrance to any of the Dead Sea resorts is JD 15 on a weekday. I have yet to pay JD 15 for a cup of coffee and I’ll be damned if I am forced to consume more food just to sit somewhere for 30 minutes! It is not good value for money in any way. I can always bring my own cup of coffee and find myself a nice quiet rock to sit on elsewhere on the beach.  But this isn’t about the money. To me it’s about exclusion, when you create such a policy you are widening the gulf between the haves and the have-nots.

I’m not rich, but I am not poor either, I can afford the “fees” to get into these resorts, yet I consistently choose not to enter. I work hard for my money and so I choose how to spend it, I even try to make wise choices! But to be forced to spend a minimum amount for the privilege of a brand name resort, that is something I can do without. I don’t want to have to pay my way into places like that, to me it is not a wise investment, nor is the value for money worth it for me. When I spend my money I like to spend it freely and by choice.

This policy of exclusion based on finance is clearly creates a bigger and bigger divide between the rich and the poor. The middle class caught in between is more and more often having to choose sides. Once again I choose to be in the have-nots.

