Its official and if you didn’t get the announcement , here it is again. I HATE SNOW! Yes, yes its pretty as it falls and when you look out in the morning everything has a clean white blanket covering it, but that’s where the niceness of it ends for me.

Someone once said “hate” is a very strong word. I agree. That word carries with it the strength of my feelings towards snow. Its cold, wet and gets everywhere. It piles up and takes way too long to disappear. I don’t play in the snow. I don’t like to walk in it. I will not put my hands in it either. And you know what, taking pictures of it is not very high on my agenda.


 


These very strong feelings stem from the fact that on two separate snowy occasions I got very sick from my interactions with the snow. On a third occasion it resulted in a major fight with my boss. Putting that aside there is the snow itself cold and wet, it make my knees creak, my fingers ache and my toes cold. It soaks through shoes, and clothes and leaves the skin clammy and cold and I  can never feel warm again the whole day especially my toes.  And lets not get started with the layers and layers of clothing one has to wear to arm against the cold or shed once indoors!


I also dislike the after effects of snow. The muddy wet ice that was snow piled up on the side of the roads. The continuous run off in the streets for days. The muddy wet foot prints wherever you go. And at night and in the early morning hours the treacherous ice that forms makes for scary slippery footsteps that may lead to a nasty fall. Its no longer white, its not pretty and it sure ain’t nice!

So yes I hate snow. That’s been my mantra for days and it wont change anytime soon. So when it snows again you’ll know what I’ll be saying, and just to make sure there is absolutely no confusion it is: I HATE SNOW.

