I was watching an episode of Sex in the City that questioned and then celebrated singlehood. It made reflect on my weekend, and yes, how great it was to be single. 

 

 

Thursday night was spent at home with DVDs, my thoughts and books. Friday was getting pampered at the hair salon and then an afternoon with the girls followed by social hopping from one place to another.  Saturday came and it was time for me to really start the year and so after the dietician, the dentist and the credit card company I went off to do something for me. I went to the Rembrandt exhibition. I spent a full hour with myself and the reproductions of Rembrandt. After leaving I went to my favorite café to spend some quality time with myself. 

 

 

 

Something dawned on me. I love spending time with myself, I love having my own space, I like to do my own thing, I like disappearing when I want to unasked, unaccounted for, unquestioned. I enjoy being single, I like being a hunter (Think Dido’s song, Hunter).  

One may be the loneliest number but its easy, uncomplicated, and it’s the number of freedom, independence.  I like being a one, or as they said on the show, Single and FABULOUS!