It’s coming close to the end of the year and it’s that time when I look back and remember the year that was: what I have done, where I have gone and how naughty or nice I’ve been. I reflect back on the year and recap the highs, lows and the in betweens. 

I started the year with a bang and will hopefully end it with one. I know that its important to be around people whom you like and enjoy being around on such a special day as the new year. I started mine with some of my nearest and dearest around me counting in the New Year. I was so happy to see 2006 go and to start 2007 that I forgot to set my new year’s resolutions. Which was not a bad thing at all. I floated through the year and did things I didn’t think I would do. 

So what were the accomplishments of the year? I went places I never thought I would go, mentally, emotionally, spiritually and physically. I partied through the first half of the year, I came to terms with a troubled past, I lost weight, 20 whole kilo grams, I fell in love, I started a blog and wrote like I never did before, I explored the poet within.

My greatest accomplishment this year is realizing that its OK not to the superwoman I always tried to be. I learnt to acknowledge defeat, to hurt, to feel and to let people know it. I learnt to be human. And that meant to feel, to hurt, to cry, to laugh, to jump, to make mistakes, to be a child, to just be. 

Another great step this year was goal setting. I made a decision last year to travel to Sri Lanka and I actually saw it through. I never was good at long term planning and to be able to actually go from concept to planning to execution was amazing. The trip itself was amazing and life changing in many ways. 

2007 was also the year the cynic in me died, a little at least. I experienced a whole spectrum of colorful emotions that helped me open circles and close others. What a different world it is when the cynic is quieted. You see so much more. You don’t get in your own way with your misgivings about the genuineness of life and its beauty. 

I think back to last year and what the fortune teller on the streets of Bangkok said to me. He asked my birth year, played with the numbers and looked into my eyes while he held my hand and said “30 good, 31 better, 32 BETTER: good money, good job, good lover!” Thirty has been good and if the next two years are gonna get better than this then I look forward to ring the year away and welcome the new one with open arms, closing the circles of the year only to open new fuller, bigger ones.

