This week has been a whirlwind of activity, thought and of course the mundane. And so I have decided to review this past week, as my memory permits. I will work my way back as it is the easiest way to go. 

Yesterday was the day from hell… it started with no water, I was all over the city in heels and even outside the city too and I was informed there is a dead pigeon in my house! I had back to back functions and events starting at 5 pm and I ditched one only to end my night at 2:00 am. It was fun I must say. What I loved about yesterday was visiting all the community centers and seeing great work in local communities being done. I also liked seeing my friends, the children at Ruwwad, one more time. The day was exhausting but I must say it balanced out the good, the bad and the ugly with the balance being in the good.  Wednesday I got my ego stroked at Toastmasters. I am rejoining my club, and I was invited to speak at table topics (impromptu speaking) and I loved it. It truly is a positive environment that for me is a great ego boost. But it is more than that. It is a way to connect to people, learn and grow that is social and intellectually stimulating even. I had been inactive for 8 months before deciding to return. I am glad I made the decision.  

Also on Wednesday something striking did happen… I was out at night near the third circle and a swarm of bats was flying in the air from tree to tree. It seems they are migrating somewhere and it is so amazing to see them circle and move and play at night. 

Other mundane things that happened this week include my weekly visit to Ruwwad. I was working on the computer and there were three or four boys just standing around me watching me work. They asked questions about the internet and about computers, which I answered. I then asked them if they wanted to play and each one in turn got to use the computer for a little bit. This left an imprint because they come from and under served  under privileged area and yet they knew how to use a computer. Something unheard of a few years ago. They had the wonder and excitement of playing with a new toy but not the fear of technology that I had when I first started working with computers ions ago. I think that somewhere, somehow someone had done something right for these kids. There is still a long way to go but it seems we have the first few baby steps taken. 

This week also saw culture on my part, I attended not one but two of the EU film screenings that end today. They were fun to go to seeing the world through another cultural scope was illuminating and even funny in parts. The Dutch film had its juvenile moments yet was very funny in others and well worth the time. The Swedish film was very moving and poignant, highlighting the lives of three sisters and the relationships in the microorganism that is a small town. It was well done and engaging. However I must say I was bemused by the Swedish language and how it sounds. I still smile every time I think about it.

One other thing that sticks out from this past week are traffic patterns but I will write a whole other post about that. 

My brain is still half asleep and this is as much of the week that I can remember. There is one request though I have of you my dear reader. After such a long hectic week, I would like to ask you to wish me luck. Its been a tough week and the more positive energy I can channel the better… so think it, say it or even write but if you can wish it.

