OK I guess I have to admit it. Its official with the rains and the bitter cold of this past week winter is here. But wait the sun is out and its beautiful and shiny and warm. No its cold and my fingers hurt and I am wearing gloves all the time. But I still get away with not wearing a jacket. This is my internal debate with the changing of the seasons. I am in denial about winter.

Its not that I hate winter, really I don’t. I just prefer the other seasons. If I were to rate them I would say spring, fall, summer and then winter. I don’t like the extremes of winter or summer. The summer heat that makes you sweat even when you are sitting or the stifling heat while sitting in a car with no A/C or the sweat stains … I am sure you get the picture.

But with winter, well I do like the light drizzles of rain every now and then. But I can’t stand walking up to a cold room in the morning. Or my fingers that just hurt  unless they are wrapped in woolen gloves. How about the bulky clothes that you hide? We all know what that means… your waist expands to no end, because even you can’t see it under the multitude of layers that is winter clothing. The layers… the under shirt to keep you warm, the shirt that you wear incase you take the sweater off, the sweater, the light jacket and the over coat; and that’s just the top half. On the bottom lets see… there are the stockings nice and thick, the socks, the skirt or pants, and of course the boots. Wow, it was a workout just typing all that up. And when you are armed with all those clothes on you end up at the office where the heat is blasting oven temperature air or a friend’s house with a fire place and you just shed the layers. I like the simplicity of spring with a shirt and a shawl, or even autumn with a light jacket at most. 

Right now I am so in denial it’s not even funny. I have not fully acknowledged the state of the weather and the change of seasons. What that means is I have two chests of clothes open and exploding with winter clothes, I am still wearing a lot of items from my summer wardrobe and it will remain that way until the last possible moment. Which is why I am miserably cold at the end of the day or overly warm at the start of it.

Call me stubborn, call me a fool, call me what you will, but until I can not see the sun for over a week I am still stuck in autumn my second favorite season of the year.

