As I waited at the doctor’s office a couple of days ago I saw a blind man. As he walked and took a seat, I started thinking of the things I would miss if I lost a sense.  

If couldn’t see, I would miss the colors. I would miss the light. I would miss the intensity of a lovely gaze, and the nuances implied but the flick of a head or the twitch of an eye. I would miss the smiles. I would miss the sight of children playing in a park. I would miss the beauty of fruit stand. I red desert and the blue green ocean. I would miss the faces of those I love. I would miss the sunset and the moonrise. 

If I couldn’t hear, I would miss the music. I would miss the conversations. I would miss the sound of birds in the morning and the tinkling of water. I would miss the ocean surf. I would miss the whispers of sweet nothings. I would miss the cackling of fire. I would miss the purring of a happy cat. 

If I couldn’t feel, I would miss the touch of soft skin. I would miss walking on freshly cut grass. I would miss the soft fur of a cat and the warm fleece of a blanket. I would miss the cool summer breeze on my face. I would miss the ripple of silk in my fingers. I would miss the coarseness of a man’s beard. I would miss the ticklishness of breath on my neck.  

If I couldn’t smell, I would miss the mustiness of the earth after the first rain. The smell of a warm kitchen, and freshly baked bread. The heady jasmine of the summer will be sorely missed. I would miss the salty sea breeze. I would miss the smell of freshly peeled oranges. The smell of freshly cut grass. I would miss the whiff of the heady perfume of a beautiful woman and the ruggedness of men’s cologne. I would miss the smells that trigger memories. I

f the sense of taste was taken away, then there would be no more chocolate melting in my mouth. I would miss the heartiness of good broth. I would miss the tanginess of labneh. I would miss the breeziness of a fresh mint lemonade. I would miss crisp salads and creamy sauces. I would miss the richness of a chocolate mousse and the lightness of puffy croissant. I would miss homemade Arabic foods and spicy Indian curries.  

I am thankful for my faulty eyesight. I am thankful for my ears that I abuse every weekend. I am thankful for my fingers and the touch of things on my skin. I am thankful for my constantly clogged nose. I am thankful for my taste buds. I am thankful that I can experience the wonder that is the world through all of them. I hope that with age they don’t dull and loose their luster. I hope I never have to miss anything.