I was with a friend the other day and we were talking about relationships. He was being fixed up for marriage and we were both laughing at the whole concept. He said something that struck a cord. He responded to the advances by saying he is a Tricks player not a Tarnib player. 

Apparently the fundamental difference he was referring to here was that when you play Tarnib as a group of four you need a partner; Tricks on the other hand is a game where it is each player for him or her self.

So do we each have a preference for one game or the other? Are we team players? Do we work well with partners or not? Can we identify these traits? The allegory is simple and easy to relate to yet very accurate. Even for someone who doesn’t play cards J

Are we each destined to play one game or the other? Is it our own preference? Each of the games has something to offer. I look around and I see friends who can not stand the thought of Tricks and others who look at Tarnib wistfully. Some who always play Tarnib because they don’t know how to play Tricks, and yet others who play Tricks because they always loose at Tarnib. Its always a point of much discussion and reflection. 

As for myself, I am not much of a card player, but when I look back at my life and I think I have fared much better playing Tricks than Tarnib. Its added a lot of diversity and excitement in my life but every once in a while I think Tarnib would be a fun game to play. Who knows what the future holds, but I do know the trick to Tarnib is to find a good partner 😉

